Just GO.

Inner city dawn. Copyright Karen Traa.

Inner city dawn. Copyright Karen Traa.

Here I am, Lord. Send me.
The call to preach the gospel.
How many of us have heard it?
How many of us have answered it?
How many of us think it just means being a missionary to a foreign country?
Hmmmmm…..
Technically, foreign would mean ANY country, because the bible classifies us as “aliens”; foreigners in our own land.
What if “Here I am, Lord, send me” DOESNT mean a foreign country? What if it means the country you were born in? Your own backyard? Beside the neighbourhood mailbox? In the grocery store or the laundromat?? Maybe someone in your own family or extended family? Your family-in-law?
Are you still willing to be sent?
Somehow being sent as a “missionary” to your in-laws or your neighbours next door, just doesn’t seem so glamorous, does it? There’s no emotional send-off, with people praying over you, wishing you well, supporting your cause. Nope. Just a day-in, day-out kind of monotony of ministry that makes you wish sometimes for just ONE crazy, wild trip overseas, trekking into jungles unknown, across deserts on camels, speaking to people that have no idea what you’re saying without an interpreter. No recognition. No fanfare. No title. No fixed role. One day you are chopping wood and building a wheelchair ramp. The next day, you are holding someone’s dying hand in the hospital. And there’s no pomp and circumstance. No one even expects you to pray for them or with them; in fact if you suggest it, they kinda look at you funny. After all…..you are not a “minister” or a “pastor”; that’s a title reserved for people that hang out in churches and it’s their job to pray and be “religious”.
Maybe our lives ARE the jungle. Maybe chopping through cultural issues and racial boundaries is more difficult than slicing through jungle vegetation. Maybe we speak a spiritual language so foreign to the average unbeliever, we need someone to interpret for us. Maybe those missionaries sent overseas are wishing for just ONE ordinary day that doesn’t involve treks through the jungle and people who speak a language that needs interpretation.

Maybe we need to just give up and GO. Go wherever we are sent; the backstreets of the cities where no one else wants to venture; the prisons, and the hospitals, and the emergency rooms and the hospices where people are dying. Maybe Walmart on a Saturday night. Go where GOD thinks we are needed. Where The Lord of the harvest says we need to harvest the ripe crop. So that when our lifetime on earth is finished, we can go home to our Heavenly Father and hear him say “well done, my good and faithful servant; my daughter, my son, I’m glad you’re home.”

I think we need some missionaries here.
Or wherever you are right now.
Are you willing to go??

About Karen Traa ( Seeking )

Follower of Jesus Christ, wife, mother, registered nurse. Loves nature, coffee, gardening, dogs, music, blue skies, books, trees, a good pair of jeans, rural life and urban conveniences. Dislikes mud, cold, cloudy days with no rain, noise, and closed minds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just GO.

  1. vw1212 says:

    just reading this, but by God it is timely….thank you..vw

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this, Sister Karen!! Years ago, as a young man, I was walking home from work and the street my young wife and I lived on in Yakima, Washington had a row of palm trees. Yep, high desert, looked great! Anyway, I used that time as a time to meditate and talk with the Lord, and as beautiful as that tree-lined street looked, dark though it was, I felt like a pilgrim. Literally! I didn’t feel like I belonged and even though that was decades ago, I never forget that feeling for the Lord spoke to me, that I WAS a pilgrim, in today’s political vernacular, an alien, an immigrant. The Spirit revealed in a very strong way to my heart that this was NOT home, Heaven with the Father, was. All who, like your tagline states, “has the mind of Christ,” must feel that way at some time or other and it’s interesting how you tie that in with most people’s thinking about missionaries. But you speak the truth because we are.
    This reminds me so much of what the central theme of the whole Word of God is which is found in, Mt 22:36-40 “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?”
    “Jesus said to him,” ‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”
    We ARE sent to be missionaries from Heaven to our neighbors, family and friends. We who ARE called by the Spirit, those being “SpiritLed” ARE pilgrims, immigrants and those who are not, this world (system) is their home. They are citizens imprisoned by their sinful nature, yet they too can become citizens of a far greater home, one that lasts forever. Yet they have to be told about it first!!
    I love what I’ve read so far!! Going to add your site to my links page, am going to love to follow more of your posts as time and health permit.
    In the meantime, God bless you richly, abundantly and continually as you continue in your ministry (service) to all of us AND to the Lord!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karen Traa says:

      Pastor Roland, Thanks for stopping by! I don’t get to writing as much as I would like to, but sometimes the Spirit says “Write”, and I write. I find it amazing that those of us following the Christ are often hearing and going through the same things, even though miles and continents apart!! May the love and grace of Jesus be with you as you run the race set before us. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bring bread says:

    Karen, I LOVE this! Thank you so very much!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. deborah ann says:

    Karen . . . He sent me innto the blogging world . . . sometimes I feel lazy about it . . . sitting in my warm office, in my comfy clothes . . . but I spend hours pursuing His words and spreading my faith in His grace around. It is where He wants me for He understands my limited ability to literally go into the world! ~ Blessings in Jesus ~

    Liked by 2 people

  5. realchange4u says:

    Count me in. I will go. Great reminder and encouraging words.

    Much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pray2christ says:

    Excellent. God would never intend for us to forget out own lands for preaching the Gospel while we seek to preach in other distant regions of the earth.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wally Fry says:

    Nice Karen
    Those mission fields right next door are just as important as the ones a thousand miles away. Only one problem really. Those people we know or might know are so much harder to talk to than strangers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

